Tragedy In The Second Degree


This weekend I scrolled past a video of a woman being violently ejected from her car during a freeway accident. To say it was disturbing was an understatement.
 
I paused because I was so taken aback by the footage. Questions on top of questions flooded my thoughts…
 
Did she die?
Is she alive?
Were there other people in the car?
Was she married?
Did she have children?
How did her family react?
Was she on her way to work?
 
But the final question, and one that probably troubled me the most was…
 
Why would someone post this video to social media?
 
The answer that seemed to make the most sense was this one:
 
Tragedy has become a spectator sport. We have become so desensitized and accustomed to the idea and reality of tragedy, that in a general sense, we’ve lost all respect for privacy, impetus for prevention, and in some cases, being spurred to action in an effort to assist when tragedy strikes.
 
Content to simply stand back and watch, tragedy has become entertainment fodder, while compassion withers away.
https://i2.wp.com/consciousreporter.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/youtube-censorship-conscious-reporter.jpg

We have policies in place to protect the interests of copyright holders and corporations, but misfortune is paraded about like some morbid trophy.

I’d like to believe we are better than that. Perhaps one day it will become the new normal.

Categories: commentary, opinion, personal | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Tragedy In The Second Degree

  1. I remember back in 2010, just before the Olympics in Vancouver, an athlete died during a practice run on the luge track. There was an embedded video in the article I was reading and it played before I could stop the stream.

    I had no desire to watch. The moment his body hit the side beam, it was clear he was killed. It upsets me, even now, knowing that it was a video that was played as casually as a commercial.

    What upset me more was the group of young boys in the store talking about it. ‘There wasn’t even any blood. Like, it barely looked like he was dead or anything.’

    My heart broke.

    We protect our future generation from broken limbs and strangers on the sidewalk.

    Perhaps we should protect innocence with the same passion.

  2. You are so right. I cannot see the video, but from what you say, I don’t think seen it is necessary.
    Yes now in the social media, I have found so much of ghastly stuff put in it. Sometimes there are innocent children being beaten or innocent animals going through torture. It only makes me sick. No matter how much you block them, still there will be another person sending those.

  3. To be honest, I was just talking about how desensitized I’ve become to things with my grandmother before she passed. She and I both agreed that it is our entire generation that is becoming this way. Some things more prominently than others, but it is happening. Can’t say that I particularly like it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

