LIFE LESSON #223 – Letting Go


When it comes to any type of relationship – be it friend, family or potential spouse – it is a complete waste of your valuable time to chase after people who are actively running away from you. Let them go.

Instead of lamenting those who don’t return your calls, keep cancelling on you, won’t respond to your emails and text messages, devalue your feelings and constantly imply that other things, places and people are more important, recognize those who are running toward you, those who acknowledge with appreciation, your value in their lives. These are the people on to which we hold.

Know your worth… ❤

know your worth

Categories: opinion, personal, relationships | Tags: , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “LIFE LESSON #223 – Letting Go

  1. You are so right, Riis. I really needed this today. Thanks.

    -Kim

  2. girlforgetful

    See, you must realize that while you say let go of those who don’t want you, you also say don’t run from others, and unfortunately we can’t always do that. I think it’s more important to realize that when someone doesn’t want what you have to offer, that it isn’t as much about you as it is about them, and that when you reject someone you should think about what it is that you’re really looking for in a friend or a mate. It sounds weird, but we “try people on for size” all the time. The problem is we can’t “wear” them successfully if they can’t “wear” us just as well. Some of us spend too much time naked to be of much use to others. This comment has gone off the tracks. I’

    Does that make sense, though?

    • I know exactly what you mean and it makes complete sense. 🙂 There will always be those with whom we simply can’t make a connection. I was just suggesting that cultivating relationships with people who reciprocate is a better use of our time.

      • girlforgetful

        One would think that would be obvious, however I can attest from personal experience that sometimes one can get caught up in the challenge of changing the mind of the emotionally distant person they have set their sites on. You’re right, total waste of time. You’re value is not dependent on the value others assign you. Repeat repeat repeat until you believe it.

  3. blacktarheart

    I’m always the one running away.

  4. The hardest lesson is when we realize that it may be time to let some relationships drop while we wait for the ones that value us. This is when we really need to have a relationship that fills the empty spot. For me, that is where my relationship with God has to grow so that I don’t use others as shabby substitutes. Helps me to see that I can’t let others make ME their shabby substitutes, either.

  5. I can acknowledge when a relationship is no longer mutually beneficial, I just have trouble with the actual “letting-go” part. When a relationship/friendship fails, I’ve found myself leaning more heavily on those I still have. I’ve discussed it with some of my friends and they acknowledged that I’ve done that but that they didn’t mind. However, I’ve been looking for other things to replace the missing relationships and typically turn to books to fill the emptiness I’m feeling. It usually works well, until I’m no longer reading.
    I have higher standards lately but I also feel like I’m buying friends, which is a pretty terrible feeling. Thanks for pointing this out.

  6. ST

    It can be so hard to let go of people you care about, even if they don’t care about you in the same way. It’s definitely something I’ve gotten better at as the years have gone by. I think in equal balance: remembering to pay attention to the good ones!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

