Join The Rebellion


Sometimes when I’m uploading pictures or typing out a conversation I’ve had with someone in my family, I wonder if people think I’m being pushy or overdoing it by constantly posting about my wife and kids and how much I love them. I wonder if maybe I should reduce the frequency of my shared observations so as not to put people off.

And then…Join The Rebellion (smaller)

I watch the news where it seems a majority (if not all) of the content is focused on domestic and community violence, betrayal and corruption, political posturing to the detriment of citizens, sexual exploitation of celebrities and children, public humiliation of people in relationships gone bad, and Sports.

And then…

I notice TV shows that are supposedly geared toward children but include gratuitous hyper-realized violence, subtle sexual undertones, or is simply a platform for blatant product promotion.

And then…

I look around at the adjunct education we may or may not be aware that our children are receiving at school: how to obtain drugs and alcohol while still underage, how to be (or at least appear) sexually active without your parents finding out, the pros and cons of bullying, and what it means to aspire to popularity at any cost.

And then…

I go to work and witness firsthand the long-term, sometimes irreparable effects of neglect and trauma on men, women and children… emotional repression, developmental delays, self-medication and isolation.

But…

That’s when I realize that in spite of my endless stream of Instagram photos, flirtatious banter with my wife, or anything else I may share with my friends, family and the world… I could never match the sheer volume of negative elements that come together to form a fortified barrier against unified families and healthy relationships.

But…

That’s when I realize that, while I may not be able make any significant dents alone, there CAN be success and strength if others join in and celebrate their passionate marriages, delightfully entertaining children and rewarding occupations. So join the rebellion and help me flood the world with stories of LOVE, VICTORY, and the pursuit of HEALTH.

Categories: commentary, opinion, personal | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Join The Rebellion

  1. Joining with you! *raises fist*

  2. Sounds like a good plan.

  3. girlforgetful

    I like the happy-sharing-type, it IS an improvement over the negative images we are presented with in every day life.

  4. I don’t feel like I have all that to offer, but at least I can say I enjoy your positivity.

  5. The Duckie

    Peace, love, and fluffy animals. And food. Who doesn’t love food?

  6. I’ve been unofficially involved with your rebellion before you’ve actually announced it. There is enough hate and negativity in the world, I don’t need to add to it. I enjoy your positive messages and the pictures of your beautiful family. I am going to make it a point to post/share positive things, as well.

  7. rebels unite! 🙂

  8. I’M IN.
    g.

  9. Pingback: Ignoring The Injury | Dove, Thy Neighbor

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

