Blue-Eyed Disappointment


After reading a friend’s post about her eye color, it got me to thinking…

My gorgeous wife has the most beautiful green eyes. When we started having children, I had this small inkling of hope that perhaps one of our children would get her green eyes, or maybe even her father’s blue eyes. As it turned out, all six (6) of my children have brown eyes. Not that there’s anything wrong with brown eyes. But I thought it would be nice to have at least one kid who took after her and got those beautiful green (or blue) eyes.

Yeah, didn’t happen. confused

Who knew my genes were so strong?? So I did a little research and came upon these neat little calculator that takes into account not only the parents’ eye color, but the grandparents’ eye color as well. This is what it returned:


As you can see, even with her parents’ blue and green eyes and the fact she has a sibling with blue eyes, there was really no hope of any of my kids getting them. Well, I guess, unless I had a 7th kid?

Uh, no. whatevah

Here’s the link if you’re interested in checking your own eye color probability: http://genetics.thetech.org/online-exhibits/what-color-eyes-will-your-children-have.

Categories: family, personal, stories | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Blue-Eyed Disappointment

  1. Whoa. If this is correct, my husband and I have a 50/50 chance of either green- or blue-eyed kids. I think eye color is a little more complicated than just the eye color of your ancestors, though. There are a lot of genetic factors that affect eye color. And personally, that simple chart can’t take into account my extra convoluted family tree. All my siblings are half siblings. Between the five of us, we have two moms and three dads.

    • Actually, I’m sure there are other factors that come into play when decided the eye color of your kids. I have no idea how accurate it is, but it does explain a little bit of why there’s a good chance I’d have brown-eyed kids even if I decided to have 15! lol Which… I wouldn’t btw. 😛

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

