High Standard


One night, as I sat rocking my then 8-month-old daughter to sleep, I made her a promise…

I promised her that I would make it extremely difficult for any man to win her affections.

No, not by giving any potential suitor the third degree and employing time-tested intimidation tactics.

But I told her that I was going to set the standard so high for how she should be treated…

that any man hoping for her attention would have to offer her the absolute best of himself.

Today she turns 4 years old…

and since that time when she was less than a year, I’ve taken advantage of every single opportunity to keep that promise.

Happy 4th Birthday Arielle!

Categories: family, personal, relationships, stories | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “High Standard

  1. Pingback: Pull Of The Cape « Dove, Thy Neighbor

  2. What a cutie! My brother-in-law has a different theory about that. He thought he would just not potty train his daughter, and that would keep the boys away. But I like your idea much better.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

