Counting The Days


Since I started working out regularly, I’ve felt better than I have in a long time. I got up this morning and realized that exhaustion and weariness have been replaced by more energy and more focus. Of course some days are better than others. Highs and lows come with the territory. But overall, I feel fantastic.

In the past I’ve succeeded, failed and then tried again. I start over from Day 1, claiming that THIS time I’ll be victorious. Wash. Rinse. Repeat.


But in my drive to meet some arbitrary weight loss goal or in pursuit of some achievement milestone, at times I lose sight of the fact that, in reality, my life is not so conveniently compartmentalized. These segments of time only serve to become unnecessary constraints by which I measure my success or failure.

So I’ve changed my perspective. Instead of recognizing Day 30 or 72 of a workout routine, I can now see that I’m at Day 14,600 of my LIFE.

 

Because in the end, when it comes to health… every single day counts.

Categories: personal, photos, stories | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Counting The Days

  1. Looking GREAT, Riis! Yes, every single day counts! (And don’t you get enough of a work out being a Dad?! ;-))
    HUGS!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

