I Am Here


I saw you for the first time again today…
I could think of a million things to say
But I sat quietly watching, listening
Patiently awaiting your words
You were smiling, whispering softly

You held out your hand for me
It held nothing tangible that I could see
but the offering of your heart
A transparent offering
More akin to a mirage than a marriage

I realized I had no rights and no claims
An assumption that goes by many names
because I waited for you to return
Thinking somehow it would be different
Better, you wanted something in me

As you spoke I heard maybes and possibilities,
to birth babies not hostilities
like the trips you’ve already taken
to the forsaken and desolate ruins
of love past and love lost and love neglected

I believed your smiling eyes and laughter
Anxious and afraid of what might be after
the conversation ends and reality begins
to set in, and see… will you remain
My optimism and hope is plain

Share with me your true grief unspoken
The cobwebs in the attic where the toys are broken
the ones you hold onto for the memories they possess
the origin of your stress is my guess
But am I any less an important relic?

Here it begins only if you choose for it to be so
My requirements are the same from above or below
wherever you are I am there
You were… you are…
We are… I am… here.

by Myxl Dove
© 2012 Browel Publishing.
All rights preserved.

Categories: poetry, relationships, writing | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

