Acceptable Enough


I sometimes wonder what makes it so hard for some of us to accept a compliment. What was the event in our past that has thoroughly convinced us any positive statements regarding our ability or appearance is somehow misplaced? We become suspicious of the person’s motive. We question their sincerity and sometimes believe it’s just empty flattery for their own gain. I see it in so many people. I see it in myself.

I know that I’ve battled with being acceptable to myself. For a long time I would write music and sing songs hoping that someone would enjoy them and tell me so. Only to find myself with smiles that were often undecipherable. Maybe you put on a new outfit or get your hair done and the only comment you get from someone is in regard to how it was overpriced and you could’ve gotten it cheaper somewhere else.

I used to maintain a blog series that featured other bloggers I thought deserved recognition and a larger audience. At last count, I’d managed to do 90 of them. Of those I’ve asked, there have been a number of people who have turned me down for various reasons. In most of the cases there was a recurring feeling among them that somehow they weren’t pretty enough, popular enough, or a good enough writer. It always had to do with them not being enough. Well, I think enough is enough.

I don’t know what you’ve gone through, but I do know that who you are is more than a collection of self-deprecating remarks and the opinions of strangers. I know that you don’t have to be all that you hope to be in order to be happy with who you are right now. So if someone compliments your outfit, your writing, your smile, your personality or your art, just embrace it for the truth of that moment… and say thank you.

Choose to not be skeptical. Because you, my friend, are acceptable enough.

Categories: opinion, personal | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Acceptable Enough

  1. TheOthers1

    Reblogged this on Honesty and commented:
    Something to think about on a Monday morning. 🙂

  2. don’t forget the smile… mysterious, flirting, genuine… starts with the sparkle in the eyes

  3. Severe bullying had wounded me deeply. I’m in counseling now but I don’t know if I am repairable.

    • Wow, I’m so sorry to hear this. I do hope that the counseling brings some healing to your wounds. No one deserves to be bullied. I will hope for the best that you are indeed repairable. Hugs to you.

  4. Thank you, Riis! Thank you for writing this. I needed it.
    🙂
    I want you to know you are an amazing person and a good friend! I want you to know your writing inspires…and it makes people smile and think. I want you to know you always bring me joy.
    HUGS, C. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

