Awww vs. Ewww!


I’m a lifetime writer. I’m not a journalist, book author (yet) or someone who writes screenplays. I get paid for it in my day-to-day activities. But in the end I’m just a plain ol’ writer. πŸ™‚ I am someone who loves words and the particular idiosyncrasies of the American English language. I had a thought while I was going over the many criminal violations of Mother Goose. I found it interesting how one word or bit of information can completely change the meaning of a sentence or dialog exchange. So I thought today I would bring you…

Awww πŸ™‚ vs. Ewww 😯


Scene: A man and woman are arguing in a car. He pulls over and she blurts out angrily, “You’re not my father!” To which he replies softly, “No, I’m not. I’m just the man who’s madly in love with you.”

She’s 20. He’s 23. Awww… πŸ™‚
She’s 20. He’s 53. Ewww… 😯


Scene: A man and woman are arguing in a car. He pulls over and she blurts out angrily, “You’re not my father!” To which he replies softly, “No, I’m not. I’m just the man who’s madly in love with your mother.”

She’s 20. He’s 23. Ewww… 😯
She’s 20. He’s 53. Awww…Β πŸ™‚


Scene: A guy trying on a pair of pants in a dressing room is suddenly interrupted when a woman he knows slips inside so that she can see how they fit. He says, “Hey, I’m not dressed!” She responds cheekily, “Keep it down! It’s not like I’ve never see you without your clothes on!”

It’s his wife. Awww… πŸ™‚
It’s his mother. Ewww… 😯


Scene: A newlywed couple decide to skinny dip in the pool.

They’re at home. Awww… πŸ™‚
They’re at a local middle school. Ewww… 😯

Context is a marvelous thing. It can make all the difference in conveying the entire story. It’s the same with everything I’ve ever written. One word can decide love over hate, or laughter over grief. It’s all in the details. πŸ˜‰

Categories: humor, writing | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Awww vs. Ewww!

  1. HA! Aw! I snorted! Ew! πŸ˜€
    Point well made! Point taken well!
    GREAT post!
    HUGS and Happy Friday! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

