Confessions of a Bibliophile


I’ve talked about my love of books several times in previous posts on my blog. So I don’t think it’s any secret that I have a tendency to devour them any chance I get. Lately, I’ve grown quite fond of audiobooks as well. With a life as full as mine (with work, church and 5 children), it becomes increasingly difficult to find a chunk of uninterrupted time to dedicate to actually reading a tangible book. My solution of late? I’ve been resorting to audiobooks that accompany my commute to and from work each day. It has been a wonderful supplement to my voracious appetite for good fiction. It allows me the convenience of exploring new worlds and environments without forfeiting quality time with my family or shirking other responsibilities. What I’m finding out most recently is that I am often influenced by the book’s content in my everyday life.

For instance, I was reading (well, listening to)The Last Survivors” aka “Moon Crash” trilogy by the wonderfully talented author Susan Beth Pfeffer and after getting halfway through the first book, I went home and had a lengthy discussion with my wife and kids about having an emergency preparedness kit, and then deciding on an action plan for reuniting if a catastrophic disaster should ever befall us and we’re all in different places.

Anyway, I am now listening to/reading (and hold your judgements please ;-)) the Fifty Shades trilogy of books. While some of the subject matter (and let’s be honest, quality of writing) is questionable, I am finding myself a little more cognizant of certain influences when it comes to intimacy, communication and being forthright about my desires and expectations. My wife does not mind the additional tools I’ve acquired through this process :-P. For me, reading books can be both entertaining and somewhat of a treasure hunt, where elements of the story can be applied in real life.

Now, I’m a mature man who is completely capable of gleaning the best parts of a story for practical use and leaving the dross safely tucked away between the pages. But it did make me wonder if other people are influenced in this same way. It also made me realize the importance of certain literature being reserved for those who are mature enough to handle its content. I guess this is similar to the potential influence of video games and violent movies on young children. Certainly some things are best appreciated for their entertainment value when we get older. But as a bibliophile, I look forward to the treasure hunt in the next book I listen to or read.

Any suggestions? 😉

Categories: personal, stories, writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Bibliophile

  1. I am quite certain that I have learned just as much from reading novels as I ever did in class… if not more so! More often than not, I always have something to say on a given topic based on something I read recently.

    You know I always have book suggestions, just check out the reviews on my blog! :0)

  2. Great post! I’m a bibliophile, too! 🙂

    Okay….I read the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy. While not the greatest written books I’ve ever read (:-)) I did enjoy the story. And I wonder if a bunch of babies will be born 9 months from the release of the books?! 🙂

    I’m not near my books…but here are a few suggestions off the top of my head…The Soloist, Revenge, The Help, Everything is Illuminated, The Road, His Bright Light, Room…I could go on forever.

    I, also, love biographies. I love learning about people’s lives and how they handled problems and adversity.

    When my kids were teenagers, I often read what they were reading…so we could talk about it.

    HUGS and keep reading!!! 🙂

  3. TheOthers1

    I’m not judging you because I read the first two books in the 50 shades series. Your thoughts on gleaning what’s important from a book (even one you don’t think is quality) is really insightful. While I’m reading, I’m not necessarily looking for lessons, but maybe I should. Hm, but that’ll be hard because I’m too busy getting lost in the fantasy to learn anything.

    It’s been years since I’ve listened to an audiobook. I’m not even sure I still have it, but I do remember it was a great book.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

