Blind Love


Yesterday I saw something that really moved me…

As I pulled out of the gas station on my way home from work, I watched as a middle-aged man walked down the street arm-in-arm with a woman who I could only assume was his girlfriend.

You might be wondering, “So you saw a couple walking down the street… what’s so moving about that?”

Well, as I got into the left-hand turn lane, I could tell the man was visually impaired because he was using a white cane to cross the street. What moved me is that his girlfriend, who was holding tightly to his arm as they walked, was completely blind. She was depending on him to lead her to their destination, and I could tell from the confidence in her steps that she trusted him to do so without any concern or worry.

When they reached the other side of the street, I was so captivated by them that I didn’t even notice the light turn green. That is, until the cars behind me started honking. I started my turn onto the cross street and caught a glimpse of them in my rear view mirror.

I was reminded of the old saying that love is blind. If there was ever a moment that epitomized those words, it was literally this one. As far as their love story is concerned, appearance, weight and ethnicity are perfectly irrelevant. If only those with functioning eyes could see as clearly…

Categories: personal, relationships, stories | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Blind Love

  1. Just me…just stopping by to check on you. I hope you’re okay!
    My computer was down for awhile…but, I’m finally back online now. 🙂
    HUGS!

    • Hey Carolyn,

      Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I’ve just been busy with work, church, sick children and an always lovely wife. 🙂 I have something that I’m rather excited about that I’ll be posting about today. Anyway, I’m always so happy to hear from you. Much love my friend. 🙂

      • doesitevenmatter3

        I always imagine you are busy, Riis. 🙂 It’s called being Hubby and Daddy! 🙂 I’m glad you are enjoying life…each moment! 🙂
        HUGS! C. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

