The Vacant Room


I revisit this
vacant room
shrouding the memories
of provocative correspondence.
But only
periodically.

Not for any significant reason
other than the fact that
these memories
in a way
seem to help me
cope with the loss.

Or maybe
it’s the only lie
that works for now.

My thoughts
quickly fill up
with possible actions
reserved for those
who simply
are not me.

A fine layer
of dust and sorrow
has settled upon
this collection
of relics.

I serves as
sole patron and curator
of my own
hall of regret.

And so I take
one more look around
with an inhale
and a sigh
and reluctantly
close the door
behind me.

Consciously deciding
to leave it unlocked
until the next time
I need something
to remind me of
the past reality
that overshadows
my present dream.



By Myxl Dove
©2010 Browel Publishing

Categories: prose, relationships, writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

