Echoes Of A Broken Heart


The view from the edge is the cold cliff’s bluff
much further the descent than the glance admits
but it beckons me
cast it over and watch it fall
and be done with it once and for all

The wind will whistle through its hollow shell
a melancholy melody of a time tested effort
as it sings to me
a disharmonious verse upon chorus
a hindsight clarity obscured when before us

The words are torturous to discern as the distance grows
too late to recant the blistering confession of your pain
that cries out for me
a hardened heart, dense with regret
a wounding that is too fresh to forget

Reduced to scattered shards too sharp to hold
creating far too many pieces of this jigsaw puzzle
to ever recreate me
the carcass of a memory picked apart
and so echoes this broken heart

By Myxl Dove
Β©2010 Browel Publishing

Categories: poetry, relationships, writing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Echoes Of A Broken Heart

  1. You’ve captured a broken heart. I’ve experienced this. 😦
    I love the way you “formatted” this poem and emphasized certain words! Excellent! πŸ™‚
    HUGS! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Carolyn! I wrote this a while back, but I thought I’d post it for 1) posterity and 2) hopefully for feedback. As usual, your words are valuable beyond measure. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

