How Goes Love


A post on the effect of proper context. I’m amazed at how you can say the exact same thing in 10 different ways and have 10 very different meanings. So goes LOVE



“I love you!” – followed by a smile in response to something funny you did that made me fall out laughing.

“I love you” – preceded by “aww”, because of something you did that was extremely thoughtful and considerate of me.

“I love you” – while staring dreamily into your eyes when I realize how blessed I am to have you in my life.

“I love YOU” – so that you’ll know that this heart and these feelings are exclusively yours.

“I LOVE you” – in answer to your unspoken question when I’ve inadvertently offended you to prove it wasn’t intentional.

“I love you” – between breaths after mind-blowing sex.

“I… love you” – as a declaration of my commitment to you just before I get down on one knee and propose.

“I love you” – reaffirming the joy I have in providing for my family while heading out the door to work.

“I love you” – with a slight inflection while on the phone to let you know that I can’t wait to see you when I get home.

“I love you” – because of the way you love me.


I’m sure there are probably a hundred more I could come up with. I readily admit to having used every single one of these with my wife at one point or another. I believe that when you’ve given your heart to someone who values and cherishes it so deeply, you can never say “I love you” enough.

Categories: relationships, writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “How Goes Love

  1. Taylor Anne

    This made me smile!

    So thoughtful!!

    • You know I always appreciate your feedback. Thanks! 🙂

      • Taylor Anne

        Admittedly, I would have said more, but Raine was getting fidgety…but I’d already typed it out.

        To add something more worthwhile than a thumbs up of sorts:

        “I love you” has got to be one of the most beautiful phrases in the English language simply because of its versatility. How much it says with just three words. What it can achieve…what it conveys in any given moment.

        It’s amazing. And this post illustrates it perfectly.

  2. This is so beautiful! And I agree with “you can never say I Love You enough”…:-) I’m glad you not only say it to your wife, but your actions stand behind your words!

    I actually sighed at the end of this post.
    🙂
    HUGS to you and your beautiful wife!

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement, Carolyn! Maybe one day I’ll have awesome conversations like the ones YOU have. 😉

      • You’re welcome! 🙂
        HA! I will be posting more of my convos in the near future.
        I have some pretty goofy convos…must be the people I hang with….It can’t be me.
        ???
        😀
        HUGS!
        🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

